The Financial Freeze

I decided to do something that some may seem a little extreme for this week that bridges the old year and the new…I am putting my family on a week of a Financial Freeze. We aren’t putting our credit card on ice or burying the cash in the back yard, but we are having a spontaneous freeze to our spending. I didn’t plan it, I just decided to do it yesterday morning.

My plan started when I looked in my cupboards and I saw a ton of food. Some had been there awhile. I thought, “Why haven’t I used that?”. Then I looked in the fridge. Literally leftovers from Christmas were still in there and it is the 30th of December. If they don’t get used now, they won’t get used at all and then the food will go bad and I will automatically suffer my own guilt for being a greedy and wasteful American. I DEFINITELY don’t want that.  So, plan hatched…I am going to use only the resources that I have NOW. Only the food that I have NOW. Only the cash that I have on hand NOW. No grocery buying for the week. The only money that can head out of this house is for rent or the normal bills, no other money in our regular income accounts can be touched. If something comes up, we will be creative, we will sell something, or even more horrific (dum dum dum)…we wait and take care of it next week.

 

One thought on “The Financial Freeze

Leave a comment